Birthstone Lore

Birth stones have been used for centuries to celebrate ones birth. Since different traditions have associated different gemstones with each month, several are included so you can choose the birthstone which works best for you.  


  • Modern: Garnet
  • Traditional: Garnet
  • Mystical: Emerald
  • Ayurvedic: Garnet
  • Hebrew: Garnet
  • Swarovski Crystal:  Garnet
  • Swarovski Pearl:  Crystal Maroon


  • Modern: Aquamarine
  • Traditional: Bloodstone
  • Mystical: Jade
  • Ayurvedic: Bloodstone
  • Hebrew: Bloodstone
  • Swarovski Crystal:  Aquamarine
  • Swarovski Pearl:  Crystal Light Blue


  • Modern: Emerald
  • Traditional: Emerald
  • Mystical: Sapphire
  • Ayurvedic: Agate
  • Hebrew: Agate
  • Swarovski Crystal:  Emerald
  • Swarovski Pearl:  Crystal Tahitian-look


  • Modern: Ruby
  • Traditional: Ruby
  • Mystical: Ruby
  • Ayurvedic: Ruby
  • Hebrew: Onyx
  • Swarovski Crystal:  Siam
  • Swarovski Pearl:  Crystal Bordeaux


  • Modern: Sapphire
  • Traditional: Sapphire
  • Mystical: Agate
  • Ayurvedic: Moonstone
  • Hebrew: Peridot
  • Swarovski Crystal:  Sapphire
  • Swarovski Pearl:  Crystal Night Blue


  • Modern: Yellow Topaz
  • Traditional: Citrine
  • Mystical: Pearl
  • Ayurvedic: Topaz
  • Hebrew: Yellow Topaz
  • Swarovski Crystal:  Topaz
  • Swarovski Pearl:  Crystal Copper


  • Modern: Amethyst
  • Traditional: Amethyst
  • Mystical: Bloodstone
  • Ayurvedic: Amethyst
  • Hebrew: Amethyst
  • Swarovski Crystal:  Amethyst
  • Swarovski Pearl:  Crystal Blackberry


  • Modern: Diamond
  • Traditional: Diamond
  • Mystical: Opal
  • Ayurvedic: Diamond
  • Hebrew: Sapphire
  • Swarovski Crystal:  Crystal
  • Swarovski Pearl:  Crystal White


  • Modern: Pearl
  • Traditional: Alexandrite
  • Mystical: Moonstone
  • Ayurvedic: Pearl
  • Hebrew: Emerald
  • Swarovski Crystal:  Lighty Amethyst
  • Swarovski Pearl:  Crystal Mauve


  • Modern: Peridot
  • Traditional: Sardonyx
  • Mystical:  Diamond
  • Ayurvedic: Sapphire
  • Hebrew: Carnelian
  • Swarovski Crystal:  Peridot
  • Swarovski Pearl:  Crystal Iridescent Green


  • Modern: Opal
  • Traditional: Tourmaline
  • Mystical: Jasper
  • Ayurvedic: Opal
  • Hebrew: Aquamarine / Beryl
  • Swarovski Crystal:  Rose
  • Swarovski Pearl:  Crystal Rosaline


  • Modern: Blue Topaz, Tanzanite
  • Traditional: Blue Zircon
  • Mystical: Onyx
  • Ayurvedic: Ruby
  • Hebrew: Ruby
  • Swarovski Crystal:  Blue Zircon, Tanzanite or Turquoise
  • Swarovski Pearl:  Crystal Petrol 

Traditional birthstones are ancient and were society based, frequently matching up to the Gergorian calendar. 

The Modern classification of birthstones was created in 1912 by the (American) National Association of Jewelers in an effort to standardize the practice.  These birthstones were officially adopted in 1912. In October 2002, this list was updated to include Tanzanite for December's birthstone by the American Gem Trade Assoc. (AGTA).

Mystical birthstones originated with the Tibetans.

Ayurvedic birthstones come from the traditions of ancient India where birthstones played a role in medicine and philosophy.

Hebrew birthstones date back to the Judeo-Christian belief in the correlation between the 12 stones in Aaron’s breastplate, the twelve months of the year, and the twelve signs of the zodiac.  They can also correspond to the 12 tribes of Israel.